16112030_1387996251220960_672803253_n

HCG Diet P2-Friendly Chocolate Jello Bite Delight


I am not a chocolate junkie. I don’t scarf it down like crazy, but every so often, I get a chocolate craving. And when I say chocolate craving, we are talking about the most simple chocolate craving there is; a chocolate bar. I don’t want pudding, or cake, or shakes, just a plain old chocolate bar. What am I supposed to do during phase two of the HCG diet when chocolate bars are off limits?!

In the HCG Diet Support group I found on facebook, there is a recipe that is passed around more than the salt and pepper at my family’s house on Thanksgiving. They call it “Chocolate Delight.” It sounds delightful. Hell, anything chocolate sounds delightful right now. What is this chocolate delight everyone swears by? It’s similar to a chocolate bar, made with cocoa, sweetener, and…. coconut oil. FYI for those of you who don’t know, coconut and I do not get along. I want to love coconut, really, I do, but it makes insanely sick, vomiting, diarrhea, and for some weird reason, I start shaking whenever I have it.  And of course, there really aren’t any oils similar to coconut oil in consistency (believe me, I’ve looked) and if there were, I kind of doubt they would be approved for P2. What the heck am I supposed to do with a supposedly amazing recipe for P2-safe chocolate that I can’t even have?!?! What’s a girl to do?

Make my own recipe, of course! It took a little tweaking, and a few batches in the trash, but I got it down and I swear it is *almost* like biting into a chocolate bar.

Chocolate Jello Bite Delight

1 cup boiling water
2 packages Knox plain unflavored gelatin
3 TBSP cocoa
Stevia to taste

Boil 1 cup water. Pour into small glass pan. Mix in both envelopes of gelatin. After gelatin is completely dissolved. mix in cocoa. After cocoa is well mixed, add stevia to taste (liquid mixture should taste similar to chocolate pudding).

Cut into 16 squares. Each square is approximately 2.5 calories.

TIP: For a variation in flavors, try using flavored stevia, such as Vanilla Creme, English Toffee, Valencia Orange, Caramel,  or Hazelnut.

 

 

 

 

**This post contains affiliate links.

VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
16112030_1387996251220960_672803253_n

Weight Loss Resolutions

I hate to be one of those people with the cliche weight loss resolution, but this year there’s no denying that I need to set that resolution. Let’s face it. Most of us have been toting around some extra weight. And for one of the first times in my life, I am no exception to this.

As a kid, I was pretty twiggy, much like my two older daughters are. As a pre-teen, I got a little chubby and then quickly lost the weight and thinned out once puberty hit. As an adult, I stayed pretty thin, even after giving birth. While postpartum and breastfeeding, it seemed like the weight just melted off, no matter what I stuffed my face with. With each of my four children, I bounced back in 3-6 months, rocking the same size 3/5 jeans I wore in high school. I never expected I would ever become overweight. After all, I was just built thin and losing weight always came so easy to me.

Fast forward to baby #4. I had lost all my baby weight, plus a little extra. I moved to an old farm town in Minnesota when my daughter was six months old. Despite my best efforts, I just didn’t fit in well and there wasn’t really much to do like there had been in Alaska (think hiking). Even worse, it was really cold and windy in the winter, and in the summer, it was way too hot for me and my Alaskan babies. As an added difficulty, Minnesota’s summers set off my asthma. I had asthma attack after asthma attack all summer long, despite not having had one since I was three when living in Alaska. Needless to say, I spent pretty much the entire 19 months there sitting in the basement, packing on the pounds. By the time I returned to Alaska, I had gained 50+ pounds.

In December, I joined a weight loss challenge with a cash prize. I was so sure it was going to be what I needed to motivate myself and get into gear. I stuck with it alright; probably not as well as I could have, but I did make a conscious effort to choose healthier options, workout and sneak exercise into my daily routine. And guess what?

The scale didn’t budge.

The month long weight loss challenge ended and I lost a whopping one pound. That was it. All that work and I only lost a pound. One. Freaking. Pound.

Obviously I wasn’t thrilled with it. I was actually pretty stressed about it. And then a friend told me about the HCG diet. I had heard of it before, but it sounded really weird and not entirely healthy. At first I just brushed it aside. It sounded too easy, too good to be true, and borderline risky. This friend though, kept telling me about it so I decided to read the book “Pounds & Inches” by Dr. A. T. W. Simeons detailing the original protocols, research and successes. The reviews on Amazon were overflowing with success stories!

All I can say is WOW.

I wasn’t sure what I was expecting, but I tried to start the book with an open mind, keeping my own shallow and limited impressions of the HCG diet out of the picture. I read the book and took what it said at face value. I have to admit, some of the concepts presented in “Pounds & Inches” by Dr. A. T. W. Simeons were foreign to me; they challenged everything I thought I knew about weight loss and health. Despite these challenges, the research and information presented by Dr. Simeons was very encouraging and some of my skepticism began to wane. But I wasn’t convinced yet.

Even after reading the book, I still wasn’t sure. If this was the solution, why weren’t more people doing this? I did a lot of digging. I found articles on every end of the spectrum; it’s a scam, it’s a miracle, it worked for me, it didn’t work for me, it’s dangerous, it’s healthy, you name it. But what I really loved finding would surprise you.

Facebook groups!

I found several Facebook groups dedicated to individuals using the HCG diet. These groups were not only encouraging, but validating. I could find someone’s amazing before and after photos, search their username and find their very first post on the group expressing their own skepticism, just a few months prior. That is what sold me. These are real people; people who have struggled to lose weight, people who doubted this diet would work, and people who got the results they were trying for.

I am by no means an expert, but the HCG diet consists of three phases;

  • Phase 1
    Phase one is a preparatory phase focused on cleansing and preparing, however, it is not required for the diet, but rather encouraged.
  • Phase 2
    Phase two is when you begin taking either shots or drops of HCG. Phase 2 consists of 2-3 “loading days” (where the goal is to gain a little weight) and 20-40 days following a low-calorie diet plan consisting of only specific approved foods.
  • Phase 3
    Phase 3 is often referred to as the “stabilization” phase, lasting three weeks. During these three weeks, the goal is to stabilize your new weight. Anything can be eaten during this phase with the exception of starches and sugars. Drops/shots are discontinued during this phase.
  • Phase 4
    Phase 4 is often referred to as the “maintenance phase.” Weight has been lost and stabilized and there are no longer any restrictions on diet, nor are there any more shots/drops. At this point, a dieter can simply maintain by employing healthy eating habits, or they can remain in phase 4 for three weeks before beginning a repeat round of phase two. Multiple rounds of phase two may be needed for individuals who need to lose a significant amount of weight.

So there you have it; a brief synopsis of the HCG diet and why I have decided to follow this plan. I am very excited and will keep everyone updated on my progress! Wish me luck! And if you’re interested in it, don’t take my word for it! Read the book. Read the reviews on Amazon. Join the Facebook groups. Do some digging. Decide for yourself.

VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
16112030_1387996251220960_672803253_n

Sprouting Fail to Sprouting Win…

I’m a weirdo. I absolutely love vegetables and sprouts are definitely one of my favorites, especially while re-lactating, as they can actually help to improve my breast milk supply when I eat sprouts like red clover blossom, fenugreek and alfalfa. I just love sprouts though. Especially on sandwiches, in wraps or I will even munch on them plain! My youngest kid must be like me because I can hand her a bowl of sprouts and a fork and she’ll eat it like spaghetti, twisting her fork and slurping them up. There were a few problems with it though.

  1. Sprouts are reallyyyyyy expensive here. A small 8oz container at the stores here could run as much as $6.
  2. Sprouts are reallyyyyy hard to find here. No joke. Nine times out of ten, I’d go to the produce section and wouldn’t be able to find any sprouts of any kind. It’s kind of depressing, but I guess they’d be a more fragile produce item to transport to Alaska.

Because of these two things, I decided to start sprouting myself. It’s actually really simple and I didn’t even buy any special gear. Just a few mason jars and some plastic mesh. Maybe I’ll write up a tutorial on that soon. The problem I kept having though, was that the water would pool at the neck of the jar and my sprouts would rot. I am not kidding when I tell you that they rotted. They were full on rotting. It smelled like something died in my kitchen. I was rinsing them twice a day and setting them to drain, but I just couldn’t figure out the best way to do it. It was pretty hit and miss. Some batches, I guess I had them lined up perfectly, yet the next batch I would do what I thought was the exact same thing, and my sprouts would rot.

Needless to say, it was frustrating.

Initially, I had two jars propped up in an aluminum bowl like this, which was fine and dandy the first batch… But not the second… or third… or fourth…

After three &*%&()* batches of sprouts that were rotting and getting nasty within just days, I decided to go for plan B. I found a long narrow container in the home department at Fred Meyer that looked as though it would fit perfectly. It worked great at first.

The first few days it was great. The water drained. The seeds started sprouting. Then they started growing. I thought we were in the clear. Then, of course, it all went south. As soon as the sprouts were about half-way done, they started blocking the holes in the mesh, which was directly pressed against the bottom of the container. Cue more rotting sprouts.

At this point, I considered building some kind of little miniature wooden table to fit over the long container with holes for the necks of the jars, but I just never got around to doing it. I was about ready to give up. Then, while washing my pump pieces, I realized that my Boon Countertop Drying rack was sturdy, solid, and well-aerated. Perhaps that would work for sprouting seeds without the issues I was having previously.

 

I gave it a shot. The sprouts turned out perfect. Nervous it was just a fluke like my last “perfect” batch, I tried again a few times. It worked perfectly every single time!

Happy Sprouting!

 

*Disclaimer: I was not provided any compensation for this post, nor did I recieve any complimentary products. I have purchased this item on my own, with my own money. My opinions expressed in this review have not been influenced and are my own. This post contains affiliate links.4

VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
16112030_1387996251220960_672803253_n

Boon Grass Countertop Drying Rack

I have been nursing, pumping and exclusively pumping for the vast majority of the last 9 years. If there’s one thing that drives me batty, it’s wet pump pieces when I’m ready for my next pumping session. This was especially true when I was (and currently am) exclusively pumping. It’s a pain to have to wipe down all my pump pieces just to dry them before I use them and wash them again. I found that most traditional bottle drying racks didn’t really work for pump pieces, and they definitely didn’t work well when I switched to using freemie cups exclusively. So what’s a pumping mom to do?

The Boon Countertop Drying Grass is the answer to those problems! This versatile, well-ventilated drying rack really helped me maintain my sanity while exclusively pumping for 14 months, as well as while exclusively pumping to re-lactate (currently)! I’d probably have lost my mind long ago wiping down parts, especially considering we don’t buy paper towels and rags stay wet longer than I’d like! Needless to say, the Boon Countertop Drying grass is perfect.

The grass is available in white and green, but let’s be real here. Who the heck has white grass? The green one is way cuter. They also make varying sizes, including a small one, a large one and a “patch,” for smaller odds and ends, bits and pieces.

Boon Drying “Patch”
Boon Drying “Lawn”

 

Technically, the one I have is the “Lawn” version, while the smaller one is the “grass” and the little strip (as shown above) is the “patch.” I splurged and treated myself to the “Lawn” and I’m glad I did because it fits all of my pieces perfectly.

As you can see, I can fit all of the pieces from my Freemie cups, and my Medela harmony all on one drying rack, with room to spare! It works perfectly and doesn’t look like the hot mess of a towel folded on the counter that I was using previously.

The little “blades” of grass are a semi-flexible hard plastic and separate from the white portion of the product. The white portion acts as a reservoir to catch any water that falls from whatever is drying. You MUST clean this periodically. I clean mine once or twice a week just with a dish brush and hot soapy water. How often you need to clean it will depend greatly on how often you use it. If you don’t clean it though, the water below the grass gets pretty nasty, slimy and gross, so make sure to do it.

I don’t currently have any, but Boon also has a line of add-ons for the drying grass, allowing you to extend your drying space upwards through the use of little trees, flowers and butterflies from which you can hang things.

Pretty nifty, hey? I love these things. While I haven’t used the add-ons, I am hoping to add some to my collection to dry my membranes and valves a little more quickly than the grass does on its own!

The best part about the Boon Countertop Drying Rack is that is has multiple uses. Yeah, I use mine for my breast pump pieces, tons of moms do, but really, it can be used for anything. Baby bottles. Breast pump pieces. Silverware. Normal dishes like cups, plates and bowls. Even cooler though, is a secret use I found for it! I had so many issues trying to sprout seeds at home where the water would collect too much and my sprouts would rot… The Boon Countertop Drying Rack worked PERFECTLY! So now, I can use it for my pump pieces, or for sprouting, or even both!

Fenugreek sprouts

 

Overall Rating: 4.6 Stars

Fulfills Purpose Well
Design & Visual Appeal
Ease of use
Affordability
Earth-Friendliness

Fulfills Purpose Well:

The Boon Countertop Drying Grass was a sanity saver for me. It does an excellent job keeping items well ventilated, suspended (so that water isn’t pooling at the bottom) and quickly drying pieces.

Design & Visual Appeal

The Boon Countertop Drying Grass is super cute and has adorable add-ons available. Seriously! Who doesn’t want a beautiful piece of lawn adorned with butterflies, trees and flowers in their kitchen?

Ease of Use

The Boon Countertop Drying Grass is super easy to use and only has two pieces (unless you get some add-ons). It requires little maintainence, just the occasional washing and draining necessary to prevent stagnant water in the resevoir.

Affordability

Initially, I thought the Boon Countertop Drying Grass was a little expensive, however, I did buy the largest model available (“lawn”). After using it for over two years, I’m well-convinced that while it is a bit pricier than other bottle drying racks, the quality makes it worth it.

Earth Friendliness

Given that the Boon Countertop Drying Grass prevents me from using paper towels to dry my pieces, as well as prevents me from having to use (and wash) several rags a day, I’d say that it’s fairly eco-friendly.

*Disclaimer: I was not provided any compensation for this post, nor did I recieve any complimentary products. I have purchased this item on my own, with my own money. My opinions expressed in this review have not been influenced and are my own. This post contains affiliate links.4

 

VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
16112030_1387996251220960_672803253_n

Where have we been?!

You might be wondering where we have been the last few years! Well, here’s a fun summary!

  • I finished my Associate’s degree through the University of Alaska Anchorage.
  • I started a pretty successful business in 2012.
  • We had another baby, Vada Jane! An amazing homebirth after two prior cesareans.

  • We have driven the ALCAN (Alaska Canada Highway) four times. Chelsea even tagged along for three of those trips!

  • We moved to Minnesota for a year and a half after buying an old church with plans to renovate it.

  • We decided we didn’t like living in Minnesota, ditched the renovation plans, moved back to our hometown a little over a year and a half later and bought our dream house.
  • Our children started school at the same school my husband and I both attended as children.

  • My oldest turned into an aquarium geek… She *reallyyyyyy* loves snails.

  • The hardest chapter of my life finally closed. I found my biological dad, with no names, nothing to go off of, after 9 years, 10 months and 27 days of searching using AncestryDNA and 23andme ancestral DNA testing. I met him 10 years and 4 days after I began searching.

  • My kids met their grandfather for the first time.

  • We took our long overdue, family photo. Our last one was in 2009! We’ve added two more kids to the mix since then!

 

VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
16112030_1387996251220960_672803253_n

BabbaCover by Jessica Kim in Airy Cotton Review

Living in Alaska, bugs are a huge concern during the summer months. I really don’t like to use chemical-laden bug repellants on my sensitive little baby, but I also don’t want her to be eaten up by the giant mosquitoes Alaska is famous for. Not to mention, even though we live in Alaska, we still see enough sun during the summer months to get sunburn. It can be hard to know what to do with a baby during the summer months to protect them.

The BabbaCover by Jessica Kim in Airy Cotton is a great tool to help protect baby from sunburn while keeping pesky bugs at bay. The BabbaCover in Airy Cotton is a lightweight, yet durable and resiliant car seat cover designed to protect baby from sunburn and pests while out and about. The BabbaCover is made with a specialized SPF fabric that protects baby from sun exposure and the sides are made with a very fine netting to prevent bugs and other bothersome pests from bothering baby. The cover fits snugly and securely over nearly any infant carseat with a special elastic hole to provide parents with access to the handle, as well as a roll-up window to allow baby to see the world around.

I discovered an additional use for the BabbaCover. Although I loved it on the car seat, the BabbaCover could be used on rockets and bouncers that had a play bar, making the BabbaCover an even more versatile baby product. I even brought the BabbaCover along when our family visited the lake to keep my little one safe from mosquitoes, bugs and sunburn. Simply pull the BabbaCover over the entire seat, just as you would with the car seat, and baby is protected from bugs and the sun, with a light, airy, well-ventilated cover. The BabbaCover is a great way to keep baby safe from the sun and bugs during the warm summer months, especially while he or she is napping!

 

 

Fulfills Purpose Well
Design & Visual Appeal
Ease of use
Affordability
Earth-Friendliness

Overall Rating: 4.4 Stars

View more pictures of the BabbaCover by Jessica Kim by clicking here.

Fulfills Purpose Well:

The BabbaCover is a great way to keep baby safe from the sun and from pesky insects that may harass or even bite your baby. The fine mesh keeps pests out while the soft, but durable fabric along the front and back keeps the sun from burning baby.

Design & Visual Appeal

The BabbaCover is cute and durable. It looks great and is well designed.

Ease of Use

The BabbaCover is simple to use. Simply wrap the large elastic bottom around the sides of the car seat and line the elastic handle hole up with the handle. The BabbaCover is a great, cute and effective way for parents to protect their baby while in the car seat.

Affordability

The BabbaCover is a little more expensive than most car seat covers, however, the BabbaCover in Airy Cotton provides SPF protection; something most car seat covers do not offer. This SPF protection spares your baby’s skin from burning.

Earth Friendliness

The BabbaCover is durable and resilient and has withstand even the most rough use by my husband and I during our countless summer trips.

*Disclaimer: I was provided a sample product for my reviewing purposes. My opinions expressed in this review have not been influenced and are my own. This post contains affiliate links.

 

VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 8.0/10 (2 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
16112030_1387996251220960_672803253_n

BabbaMat by Jessica Kim Review

None of my kids have ever liked grass. My oldest couldn’t stand it and would shriek at the top of her lungs even we so much as looked at the grass when we were holding her. My second would whimper, cry and attempt to pick all of his limbs up off of the grass. My youngest was no different. She would scream as loudly as her little lungs would allow and would desperately attempt to get her arms and legs away from those little green blades of horror. I took blankets out with us to put on the grass, but the ground always felt especially hard and lumpy beneath the blanket.

The BabbaMat by Jessica Kim was one of the easiest play mats I’ve ever used. It is self-inflating and seals by simply clicking a dial. One of the best things about the BabbaMat is that it doesn’t feel like a balloon beneath you. It simply feels like a soft, almost spongy mat beneath you. It’s thick enough that it provides cushioning and protection from the ground beneath, making a much more comfortable and soft play area for baby, but it’s firm enough that baby isn’t likely to feel unstable or unsteady.

 

Going outside to play with my four-year-old and two-year old had been a bit of a chore prior to getting the BabbaMat. Sure, I could carry the baby around on my hip or in the baby carrier, but it was hard to coax her to lay down and play with us because she simply hated the grass and the ground was hard. With the BabbaMat by Jessica Kim, she was willing to play, babble and enjoy herself in the sun with her brother, sister, mommy and daddy without any complaining.

The BabbaMat is one of our go-to baby gear products now, whether we’re indoors and out. Since we first got the BabbaMat, our daughter was diagnosed with some health conditions which affect her motor skill development. The BabbaMat by Jessica Kim has been a great tool for us to use while we’re doing her physical therapy. We’re often able to get her to work hard and push herself further on the mat than we are when she’s off of the mat! We can’t come close to explaining how great the BabbaMat has been for our youngest!

Fulfills Purpose Well
Design & Visual Appeal
Ease of use
Affordability
Earth-Friendliness

Overall Rating: 4.4 Stars

View more pictures of the BabbaMat by Jessica Kim by clicking here.

Fulfills Purpose Well:

The BabbaMat by Jessica Kim is a simple, yet innovative baby product. The BabbaMat provides a soft, cushioned surface for babies and young children to play on without worrying about aversions to grass, or the hard ground beneath blankets. The BabbaMat isn’t overly balloon-like in the way many inflatable play mats are and doesn’t feel as if it’s a typical inflatable mat at all. Instead, the BabbaMat simply feels like a soft cushion.

Design & Visual Appeal

The BabbaMat was designed with storage in mind. As a parent who owns a relatively small home, I can’t stand having a million different baby products cluttering up and taking over my house. The BabbaMat is self-inflating and is easily deflated when the dial is turned and the mat is rolled up. The BabbaMat comes with a great storage case making it easy to roll it up and set it in the closet until we use it next, all within a matter of minutes.

Ease of Use

The BabbaMat is as simple as it comes. Simply remove the BabbaMat from the carrying case, turn the dial to allow air in and allow it to inflate, then move the dial to block air from escaping. Once you’re done with the BabbaMat, open the dial to allow the air to escape, roll the mat up, secure it with the elastic bands and place it back into the storage case until next time.

Affordability

The BabbaMat is a little more expensive than most play mats, however, the quality of the BabbaMat makes it worth it. Unlike most play mats, the BabbaMat doesn’t feel like a balloon or air mattress. The BabbaMat feels like a soft, supportive cushion.

Earth Friendliness

The BabbaMat is semi-earth friendly when I take into consideration how often I was washing blankets whenever we went outside with my daughter. To clean, simply take a wet rag and rub away dirt and grime from the BabbaMat.

*Disclaimer: I was provided a sample product for my reviewing purposes. My opinions expressed in this review have not been influenced and are my own.

 

VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
16112030_1387996251220960_672803253_n

Salter 914 Electronic Baby and Toddler Scale Review

In September of this year, my youngest child was diagnosed with spastic diplegia cerebral palsy as well as failure to thrive. Her weight was much lower than it should be. In fact, her weight wasn’t even on the baby growth chart. It was a very frightening time. I was (and still am) breastfeeding her, but it was difficult for us to know if she was getting enough just by nursing. We decided to purchase an infant scale so we would be able to monitor her breast milk intake, as well as to keep aware of any fluctuations in her weight.

I wanted an infant scale that was accurate down to to the ounce, as we would be measuring approximately how many ounces she was taking in through breastfeeding, as well as how many ounces she was gaining. The Salter 914 electronic baby and toddler scale is accurate down to as little as 0.5 ounces. This was close enough that we would be able to get an accurate idea of how much she was taking in at each feeding. I took the scale to my father-in-law to have him test it (he owns a weight and measures company) and the scale checked out fine, accurately responding to the different weights.

The Salter 914 electronic baby and toddler scale has a maxium capacity of 44 pounds and can be used either with or without the baby tray attachment, making it great for small infants all the way to toddlers and young children. The large LCD display is easy to read and the hold button makes it easy to record a weight even if the baby is fussing or moving around. Even better, the scale comes with a five year warranty.

Fulfills Purpose Well
Design & Visual Appeal
Ease of use
Affordability
Earth-Friendliness

Overall Rating: 4.2 Stars

Fulfills Purpose Well:

The Salter 914 baby and toddler scale works well and is highly accurate in comparison to most home scales. The Salter 914 baby and toddler scale is accurate down to as little as half an ounce and the buttons are simple, easy to read and easy to operate.

Design & Visual Appeal

The Salter 914 baby and toddler scale is cute, featuring a teddy-bear like face when the infant tray isn’t attached, making it more attractive and appealing to older children. For babies who require the use of the infant tray, it is sleek and professional looking, much like you’d expect to see in a doctor’s office.

Ease of Use

The Salter 914 baby and toddler scale is simple to use, however, attaching the infant tray was a bit difficult at first.

Affordability

The Salter 914 baby and toddler scale isn’t the cheapest scale on the market, however, it is a great deal at approximately $60 when considering the scale is accurate down to as little as a half an ounce.

Earth Friendliness

The Salter 914 baby and toddler scale doesn’t exactly meet any requirements to be considered an earth-friendly product, however, it will save you trips to your child’s doctors office to check his or her weight.

 

*Disclaimer: I was not compensated, nor did I receive any sample or trial products in exchange for writing this review. I paid for this product using my own money and the opinions expressed in this review are solely my own. This post contains affiliate links.

VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
16112030_1387996251220960_672803253_n

Wisey Added a Giveaway!

Wow! Wisey graciously agreed to add a giveaway to their review! Now, TWO lucky readers will win their very own Wisey Chic Mommy Bag! You don’t want to miss out on this giveaway, because these bags are AMAZING!

Check Out the Giveaway Here!

VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
16112030_1387996251220960_672803253_n

Wisey Chic Mommy Bag Review & Giveaway

I remember when I was pregnant with my daughter, I was browsing through the diaper bags in the baby section and all I could think was that they were all so boring, bland and definitely NOT my style. After all, I was eighteen and carrying around a giant ugly tote covered in teddy bears wasn’t exactly on my agenda! For a while, I actually used a large purse as a diaper bag! This is where Wisey Products came in!

By the time I had my son, almost two years later, I still didn’t have a dedicated diaper bag. I usually just threw what I needed into an empty grocery sack or a reusable grocery tote. For me, it was easier, and less embarrassing, than to run around with some bag in puke-green, emblazoned with teddy bears and rattles. I had found a diaper bag I liked through a company my sister-in-law was a representative of, but I just couldn’t afford to pay what they asked for it, so grocery sacks and totes it was!

The never-ending challenge of the diaper bag only seemed to intensify when I switched to cloth diapering. Cloth diapering, although amazingly economical, didn’t always fit well in bags designed for diaper-carrying. So, again, I stuck with the grocery sacks and totes. After all, when I went places, I needed to carry three cloth diapers, a spray bottle and some cloth wipes with me. I can’t pack it all without room to do so!

When I first saw the Wisey Chic Mommy’s Bag, I was in love, although I was skeptical that it would suit my need for space! However, I loved the design and decided it was worth a try! I absolutely loved it! I had enough room in my diaper bag for three cloth diapers, the inserts for them, my earth mama angel baby bottom balm, a handful of cloth baby wipes, an empty grocery sack (for dirty diapers) and my spray bottle!

The bag, although it’s tiny and chic looking, is incredibly spacious! With several separated areas in the bag, as well as a zippered pouch, there was room for everything! Included in the bag was even a removable changing mat, making diaper changes on-the-go a breeze! I also loved that the bag could be used in a clutch fashion, or the strap could be placed on the opposite side making it a short-strap bag, capable of being worn just like a purse!

Fulfills Purpose Well
Design & Visual Appeal
Ease of use
Affordability
Earth-Friendliness

Overall Rating: 4.4 Stars

Fulfills Purpose Well

The Chic Mommy’s bag is not only amazingly stylish, but it’s spacious as well! The diaper bag was able to hold enough for my outings with baby, and with cloth diapering, not every diaper bag can meet that challenge! This bag definitely beats a grocery bag or tote any day of the week!

Design & Visual Appeal

The Chic Mommy’s bag is well designed, cute, fashionable and amazing! I loved how compact is looks, but how spacious it really is on the inside! Best part of all, it’s not covered in teddy bears and ducks!

Ease of Use

The Chic Mommy’s bag is very customizable and adjustable. The strap can be kept in a short loop on one side, fully extended as a purse strap, or removed altogether, making it easy to make it your own! The diaper bag is easy to open and close, and easy to pack and search through with the separate compartments and dividers within!

Affordability

Most diaper bags aren’t cheap (even the ugly duck and teddy bear ones), but this diaper bag is extremely affordable at only $39! I was shocked at how low the price tag was, as I had expected to see something closer to the triple digits! This diaper bag is great and can fit any mom’s budget!

Earth Friendliness

Earth-friendliness wasn’t emphasized in this product, however, it is capable of holding cloth diapers, and that’s earth-friendly! The bag works amazingly well and is quite durable, meaning it won’t need to be replaced as often as cheaper, inferior-quality bags would need to be, thus creating less waste.

Onto the Giveaway…

Wisey is going to give TWO lucky winners their very own Chic Mommy Bag! This giveaway is open to residents of the United States and ends December 28th.

Please leave a comment with your mandatory entry and any other entries that specify to leave a comment. You do NOT need to leave multiple comments for tasks worth more than one entry. You MUST leave your mandatory entry in a comment, or no other entries will be counted.

Mandatory Entry
Describe the UGLIEST diaper bag you have ever seen… and if you were the owner of it, ‘fess up!

Additional Entries

1 ENTRY:
Tweet about this giveaway! (1 entry per day! Leave a comment on this post with your twitter name for each tweet!) Feel free to use the tweet below:
@AnotherTeenMom Wisey Chic Mommy Bag Review & Giveaway! http://anotherteenmom.com/reviews/?p=759
Update your facebook status about this giveaway (1 entry per day! Leave a comment on this post with your facebook link for each update!) Feel free to use the status below.
Wisey Chic Mommy Bag Review & Giveaway! http://anotherteenmom.com/reviews/?p=759
Follow AnotherTeenMom on twitter by CLICKING HERE.
Become a fan of AnotherTeenMom by CLICKING HERE (you must be logged in!)
Vote for AnotherTeenMom in the top baby blogs by clicking the banner on the left and confirming you vote, or CLICKING HERE and confirming your vote. (1 time per day! Leave a comment for each time you vote!)

2 ENTRIES:
Subscribe to AnotherTeenMom’s youtube channel by CLICKING HERE and then clicking the yellow “subscribe” button.
Subscribe to AnotherTeenMom via email. (Look for the box in the right hand column!)
Subscribe to AnotherTeenMom via google/atom/Yahoo/RSS. (Look for the buttons in the right hand column!)

3 ENTRIES:
Comment and rate the “Wisey Chic Mommy Bag” review video on AnotherTeenMom’s channel by CLICKING HERE.
Write a short review about Reviews @ AnotherTeenMom on Alexa by CLICKING HERE!
“Like” Wisey on Facebook by CLICKING HERE.

5 ENTRIES
Blog about this giveaway!
Place the AnotherTeenMom button on your blog! (Email me for the code!)
Place the Wisey button on your blog! (Email me for the code!)

10 ENTRIES:
Forward a copy
of your receipt for a Wisey purchase to me.

**Disclosure: I was not compensated for this post. I was provided with a sample product in order to provide a fair, honest and accurate review. My opinions and thoughts are solely my own and were not influenced in any way. This post contains affiliate links.
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)